The SGA Senate elections winners were announced Wednesday at 6 p.m. at the Student Union patio.

Reeling in a total of 3,916 students who voted, this fall's Senate elections saw a 33 percent increase in voter participation from last year's elections, said assistant elections supervisor Whitney Barnes.

"I'm very excited for where the future is going with the whole voter turnout," Barnes said. "That increase was the motivation we needed for presidential elections in spring and next year's Senate elections."

Elections ran from Monday through Wednesday, and students could only vote for senators running in their college. According to elections statutes, for every 8,000 students, there should be one senator. Senators act as liaisons for students in their college and are responsible for educating students and registered student organizations about the SGA resources that are available to them. Elected senators assume their seats for the fall and spring semesters, said former elections supervisor, Nicklas Bajema.

The 2014-15 year saw the first Senate and presidential election seasons not allowing candidates to hand out food during the campaigning process.

The election results are as follows:

College of Arts and Humanities

Meghan Kircher

Gabriela Wolk

Nicholas Shepherd

Andrew Jeacoma

College of Business Administration

Jacob Milich

Chase Little

Corey Marcous

Matthew Sink

Nhu Nguyen

Jake Herndon

Alexandra Peksens

Scott Koretsky

College of Education and Human Performance

Erika Johnson

College of Engineering & Computer Science

Joshua Bolona

James Briggs

Crystian Cepeda

Luca D'Agostino

Hamilton Ervin

Lashell Lewis

Bonsu Appou

College of Graduate Studies

Shambhav Anand

Alex Sincore

Soheil Salehi

Roland Harvey

Boniface Noyongoyo

Andrea Pulido

Eric Patz

Jonathan Chapin

College of Health and Public Affairs

Cara Gillaspie

Scott Benton

AJ Little

Ryan Garwood

Carl Hughes

Kimberley Winarski

Rossalyn Delfino

Miten Patel

Rosen College of Hospitality Management

Rachel Altfield

Justin Tubelli

Kevin Ruane

College of Medicine

Daniel Perez

Steve Njeru

Gerard Lemongello

College of Nursing

Paige Fitzsimmons

Asmita Devkota

College of Sciences

Jennifer Bayes

Zoe Hammond

Paola Hernandez-Ortiz

Amanda Mayer

Tai-Lyn Parboosingh

Jessica Wolff

Marcul Joseph

Robert Williams

Isel Bedgood

Amber Mariano

College of Undergraduate Studies

Thomas Peterson

Sharon Behar


Nada Hassanein is a Digital Producer for the Central Florida Future. Follow her on Twitter at @nhassanein_ or email her at

Read or Share this story: